The Beauchef campus is located in the Parque O'Higgins neighborhood, adjoining Club Hípico - both declared by the "National Monuments Counsel" (Consejo de Monumentos Nacionales) as a "Traditional Zone", arousing great architectural and tourist interest in its scenery that characterizes urban and architectural development of the 1920s Santiago. The sector is mainly residential with university activities, commerce and services.
In this context, the buildings surrounding the Faculty of Physical and Mathematical Sciences of the Universidad de Chile were declared "Properties of Historical Artistic Interest", and therefore protected structures. Their facades cannot be changed or obscured.
The most relevant icon of the Faculty is the School Building (Edificio Escuela), located at Beauchef 850. This structure of French neoclassic design, inaugurated in 1922, serves as the main entrance to the Beauchef campus and in the collective ideology it is the face of engineering sciences in our country.
Inside and outside of the building there are ornately decorated facades with alternating pillars, arches, textured surfaces, multi-leveled cornices, railings, decorative and finely carved reliefs, sculptured objects; all of them works of art that make way for a distinguished, harmonious appearance. In all, this is a non-intimidating space of volumetric simplicity, welcoming and inviting you to explore its space.
Adding to the Faculty building are the traditional structures of Physics (Blanco Encalada 2008), Chemistry (Tupper 2069), the Hydraulics laboratory, with the first floor facade currently reserved for the new building (Blanco Encalada 2002), and lastly, Geology (Plaza Ercilla 803). All of these buildings are from the second half of the 20th century and were part of the original campus plan.